National Magnet Nurse of the Year Award

Recognizing the outstanding contributions of clinical nurses

Lindsay Norris, RN, cancer survivor and Magnet Nurse of the Year 2018.We are proud of our superior nursing team, including three dedicated nurses who have earned recognition from the American Nurses Credentialing Center as Magnet Nurse of the Year. This national distinction is among nursing’s highest honors. 

The 2018 winner, Lindsay Norris, RN, has always been a knowledgeable and committed nurse, but she elevated her dedication and compassion to a whole new level when she became a cancer patient – and survivor – herself. 

Lindsay’s life’s work – plus the impact of a poignant and honest open letter she wrote to a career’s worth of patients – helped earn her prestigious recognition as Magnet Nurse of the Year. 

One of just five nationally selected Magnet Nurses of the Year, Lindsay was honored in the Structural Empowerment category, which includes a focus on professional development, community outreach and promotion of a positive nursing image. 

Read the story of Lindsay’s cancer journey

We congratulate Lindsay for her accomplishment and thank her for the contributions she makes to our organization every day.

Joining esteemed company

Lindsay joins the company of other nurses from The University of Kansas Health System who have earned Magnet recognition. 

Debbie Pennington, RN, BSN, helped establish the nation's first Neonatal Medical Home at The University of Kansas Hospital. She was recognized in 2014. 

Two years earlier in 2012, Melanie H. Simpson, PhD, RN-BC, OCH, CHPN, was recognized in the Exemplary Professional Practice category for her work as coordinator of the Pain Management Resources Team. 

Learn more about both our previous Magnet Nurses of the Year honorees.