Ready to join us?

Take the first step toward your career at The University of Kansas Health System.

Search available jobs at The University of Kansas Hospital

Click here if you are graduating or a recent nurse graduate.

Nursing Recognition and Awards

Honoring excellence

At The University of Kansas Health System, we recognize our nurses for dedicating their careers to saving lives. We present a number of nursing awards to honor excellence.

Donor-supported awards include:

  • Award for Excellence in Cardiovascular and Cardiothoracic Surgical Nursing
  • Award for Excellence in Hematology/Oncology Nursing
  • Elizabeth Page Award for Excellence in Rehabilitative Care
  • Elizabeth Wisdom Award for Excellence in Medical ICU
  • Jodie C. Hatzenbihler Clinical Excellence Education Award
  • Pulmonary and Critical Care Award for Nursing Excellence 
  • Riss Family Award for Excellence in Neuroscience Nursing
  • Sutherland Family Nursing Award for Excellence in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit
  • Thomas McCool/KCP&L Award for Excellence in Burn Nursing

Registered nurses in these respective areas are nominated by unit nurses, managers and physicians. For many of the awards, recipients receive $1,000. For other awards, recipients have expenses paid to a continuing education conference.

Magnet Nurse of the Year

Melanie Simpson, Magnet Nurse of the Year

The University of Kansas Health System is proud to have two National Magnet Nurses of the Year on our team. The award, which debuted in 2011, is bestowed by The American Nurses Credentialing Center. Each year, the organization selects five honorees, one in each category: Transformational Leadership; Structural Empowerment; Exemplary Professional Practice; New Knowledge, Innovations & Improvements; and Empirical Outcomes.

Read more.

Nursing Excellence Awards:

These prestigious awards are given annually in eight categories: Patient/Family Advocate, Patient/Family Educator, Nurse Mentor, Nurse Preceptor, Expert Clinical Nurse, Expert Nurse Leader, Outstanding New Graduate Nurse and Nurse Innovator. A special display of these award plaques for nursing excellence is on the second floor of the hospital.

Recipients of the Nursing Excellence Awards and donor-supported awards are honored at an annual banquet.

The DAISY Award

The DAISY Award is a nationwide program that celebrates nurses who consistently demonstrate excellence through their clinical expertise, extraordinary service, compassionate care and the trusting relationships they form with patients and families. The University of Kansas Health System is a proud DAISY Award Hospital Partner, recognizing three of our nurses with this special honor every quarter.

DAISY Team Award

Our nurses work together with multidisciplinary teams to deliver outstanding patient outcomes. In 2015, The University of Kansas Health System added the inaugural DAISY team award, in addition to the individual quarterly awards. The award goes to a nursing team that has made a difference for patients, families, colleagues, the hospital or the community.

Inaugural DAISY team award recipients

Members of Dennis Maggart's care team were the inaugural DAISY team award winners at The University of Kansas Hospital

Dennis Maggart's care team at the Richard and Annette Bloch Cancer Care Pavilion and inpatient units 41/42/45 received the hospital's inaugural DAISY team award. After receiving remarkable care during his cancer treatment, Maggart's wife, JoAnne, started a running list of all the extraordinary caregivers: nurses, oncologists, medical team assistants and technicians, etc. She soon ran out of paper due to the growing list. They appreciated everyone's sincerity, patience and compassion as he successfully battled non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

We celebrate:

  • National Nurses Week – May
  • Heart of Healthcare Banquet and Awards Ceremony – November
We are an equal employment opportunity employer without regard to a person’s race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, ancestry, age (40 or older), disability, veteran status or genetic information.