Oncology Nurse Receives National Magnet Nurse of the Year Award

October 26, 2018

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Lindsay Norris, RN, oncology nurse, has received the prestigious American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) National Magnet Nurse of the Year® Award in the category of Structural Empowerment.

The award recognizes Lindsay's outstanding contributions to internal education by improving professional nursing certification at The University of Kansas Hospital. Her inspiration to better educate and equip her teams comes from a personal battle with Stage 3 colorectal cancer that began in 2016. Throughout her treatment at The University of Kansas Cancer Center, she experienced the cancer patient journey firsthand and was inspired to share her insights in an open letter to cancer patients that received national attention.

"The relationship between the nurse and patient is so important because we serve as a lifeline," Lindsay says. "Patients are just trying to process all the information related to their cancer, and we get the opportunity to be a translator. Being a Magnet-recognized nurse at a Magnet-designated hospital gives me that added confidence boost to empower the people I work with to help patients better navigate their cancer treatment."

"At The University of Kansas Hospital, we take care of our patients as if they are part of our own family, and sometimes, as in Lindsay's case, they are," Tammy Peterman, president of Kansas City division and executive vice president, chief operating officer, chief nursing officer for The University of Kansas Health System says. "Lindsay is an excellent example of a dedicated team member who believes fully in our mission and continually inspires others to further advance the nursing profession. This award is a well-deserved recognition of her commitment and reflects the approach our entire health system takes in ensuring the highest possible quality of care and patient experience."

The ANCC National Magnet Nurse of the Year awards recognize the outstanding contributions of clinical nurses across the country for innovation, consultation, leadership and professional risk-taking. Awards are presented in each of the 5 Magnet® Model components: Transformational Leadership; Structural Empowerment; Exemplary Professional Practice; New Knowledge, Innovations and Improvements; and Empirical Outcomes. This year's 5 winners were recognized at the ANCC National Magnet Conference in Denver.

The University of Kansas Hospital is the only hospital in the region to have been awarded 3 ANCC National Magnet Nurse of the Year awards in the last 6 years. Melanie Simpson, RN, PhD, received the honor in the Exemplary Professional Practice category in 2012, and Debbie Pennington, RN, received the award in the Transformational Leadership category in 2014.

"The nurses at The University of Kansas Health System are among the best in their profession, and we're pleased to receive industry recognition for the quality care we know they provide to our patients every day," Rachel Pepper, RN, chief nursing officer for The University of Kansas Hospital says. "This award – and our continued involvement with Magnet – illustrates our dedication to health system excellence across Kansas."

In addition to award recognition, Adam Meier, MSN, RN, NE-BC at The University of Kansas Health System, has been asked to serve on the Magnet Commission on Magnet Recognition committee. He will replace colleague Brian Selig, RN, an outgoing committee member.

Explore more news, events and media